I have a tendency of disappearing…

Over the past few months, I have been completing the last of my requisites towards earning my BA in Literature and minor in Legal Studies. I am beyond thankful for everyone that supported me these past four years. Never have I stressed so much while still experiencing so much of life, as I did while away for college. My time away taught me that the people who care for you and truly wish the best for you will remain till the very end. It is very easy to say that you will always be in someone’s life, however, what truly displays your devotion is being at the end waiting for that person. I lost so many people I thought were “friends” which it hurt at first. That pain didn’t last long. The fact that I moved on so quickly from losing someone showed me the lack of importance that person meant to me. Rather than being sad, I recognized and appreciated the people that stayed. In the process of discovering friends, I also noticed that there were people that I did miss. Those were the people I sought after. It takes one text/call to reintegrate someone and, if that person is missed, make the first move.

My time away taught me that the people who care for you and truly wish the best for you will remain till the very end. It is very easy to say that you will always be in someone’s life, however, what truly displays your devotion is being at the end waiting for that person. I lost so many people I thought were “friends” which it hurt at first. That pain didn’t last long. The fact that I moved on so quickly from losing someone showed me the lack of importance that person meant to me. Rather than being sad, I recognized and appreciated the people that stayed. In the process of discovering friends, I also noticed that there were people that I did miss. Those were the people I sought after. It takes one text/call to reintegrate someone and, if that person is missed, make the first move. Also, call your mom. It isn’t hard. She will be the one that will be there through your hardest moments. She needs you as much as you need her.

In regards to school, it’s tough. Sh** hits the fan real quick. One week you will think things are going easy and then *BOOM* you are behind in all your classes. Don’t do as I did and procrastinate everything. You don’t have to start assignments the day you’re given them but also don’t wait until the due date to start. Your best tool will be a planner. Write everything down. I suggest writing all the due dates from your syllabus in your planner. It is easier to see all your classes and assignments that are due on the same date.

Lastly, remember that this is the only time in your life that you will be living near so many people around your age. You will grow so much while in college. You will discover who you are–your likes, dislikes, pet peeves, curiosity, and much more. All the decisions you make in this time are yours to make. Don’t fear to ask for help, though. Just keep in mind that everything you decide to do will only affect you. Enjoy your time in college. Go out. Party hard. Study hard. Live life.

Love,

L.L.

Leave a Reply

