One thing that I truly enjoy is going to a museum.

While in LA, I visited the new Broad museum located in Downtown Los Angeles across from the Disney Concert Hall. Similar to the Disney Concert Hall, the Broad museum is not easy to miss. It is unique in its architecture. The outside of the museum resembles a honeycomb. The white exterior stands out when standing on the corner of the Walt Disney Concert Hall facing the building against the DTLA skyscrapers.

img_6899

When I went, which was earlier this year, I had to make a very long line to enter. My friend and I got in line pretty early in the morning and it took us around 40 minutes to actually enter the museum. However, I think there is a new process to getting into the museum. I believe tickets get released a month in advanced. So I’d recommend looking at their website before going.

Their art is assembled on two different floors. There are actually three floors to the museum, however the second floor is restricted. The escalators that take you to the third floor is really cool and it feels like you are entering a hole. The elevator, on the other hand, makes you feel like you are in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. 

The art you will see varies and is very modern. I thought the layout of the art was amazing too. The first floor has darker tones, while the third floor is much brighter. On the first floor, there are exhibitions you can enter. They are small rooms that will make you feel like you aren’t inside a museum. I completely fell in love with Ragnar Kjartansson’s The Visitors. He is an Icelandic artist that assembled his exhibition on multiple screens that display different people playing the same song around a house. The music fills the room. It’s so beautiful. The musicians gave me chills. They are extremely talented and definitely an exhibit worth attending.

The art on the third floor is a mixture of sculptures and paintings/photographs. They are more surreal when compared to the first floor. By surreal, I mean, the art embodies a cartoon element. There is pop art and sculpture so big that you will feel tiny. The first floor deals with societal issues and photographs of current society. It is a more realistic commentary of society. In other words, as you ascend to the third floor the more abstract the art becomes.

I just want to say that I do not study art. Therefore, I do not know all the correct terms of describing art. Any comments I have made are solemnly based on what I could interpret. Please feel free to correct me if you feel the need to.

-L.L.

Leave a Reply

