This took me a while to accept.

I am not saying that I am fully comfortable displaying my emotions; I am saying that I have come to accept that crying is like therapy.

Since I was little, I was very shy about my emotions with my family–and essentially everyone I knew. I always felt that people did not need to know what I was feeling, moreover, I did not think anyone would want to listen to my problems. Things were better left unsaid. Most of the time I was okay with that mindset. In my head, avoiding my emotions gave me time to solve the problem. I did however start to notice that I was creating more problems in my life because I was holding so many thoughts and feelings in.

So, one day, I decided that I was going to force myself to cry. It’s strange, I know. Forcing myself to cry however made me clear my mind. As the tears came tumbling down my cheeks so did my thoughts. I began with one thought which lead to deeper thoughts that I had been holding in for a long time. To cut the story short, I ended up feeling relieved by the end of my crying session. I came to understand that harboring so many emotions was not mentally healthy.

It still takes some time for me to actually cry over something that is affecting me personally, but I have been able to deal with my emotions better.

And, that is the piece of advice I have to offer: cry it out.

-L.L.

Leave a Reply

